New Years Resolutions

I’ve never been much for New Years resolutions, but as we’ve been stuck in the house since before Christmas with snuffly, snotty, coughing children, I don’t have much else to write about right now. It’ll be fun to see how quickly I break each one.

I will not eat my children’s leftovers.

I will not listen to children’s music while alone in the car.

I will not start every conversation with “Did I tell you what (insert C or A here) did today?”

I will at least skim the headlines of the New York Times on a regular basis.

I will read at least one book a month that does not feature pictures and small woodland animals who talk.

I will not serve takeout more than once a week.

I will limit my diet soda intake to no more than two a day.

I will be better about emailing pictures to the relatives.

I will teach A to sleep through the night in her own bed.

I will teach C to sleep through the night in his own bed.

I will not lose my wallet.

I will keep my cell phone charged.

I will hang up my coat before M comes home in an attempt to keep the family peace.

I will not use the dining room table as a storage device for all things without homes.

I will not harbor ill will towards the little old ladies who comment on my parenting abilities in the grocery store.

I will not go to the grocery store with two children in tow except in the most dire of circumstances.

And last, but not least…

I will try to get a shower in at least every other day. Even if it means bringing my kids in with me.

Comments

  1. Let’s see. My favorites? Not losing your wallet and keeping your cell phone charged. Why? Because they should be mine, too. Should be. But, you know how I feel about resolutions.

    Happy New Year

  2. Do you know how often I drop everyone off at school and then, HOURS later, realize that I have been listening to The Wiggles ALL BY MYSELF?

    I hate it when that happens.

    Happy New Year!

  3. Oh, I don’t think I could limit my diet soda intake to just two! Then what in the world would I drink? Water? Pfffff….

    Happy New Year, I am so glad you “delurked” and I was able to get to know you!

  4. Phantom Scribbler says:

    Amen to all of them. Though I may have to aim slightly lower: take-out no more than 3 times a week…

  5. Running2Ks says:

    I think you can do it! The shower thing isn’t a bad thought for me either πŸ™‚ And finishing kid food–yeah.

  6. Jennifer (ponderosa) says:

    The shower thing and the grocery store and the cell phone thing — put those on my list, too!

    I also eat my kids leftovers but you know what, I weigh so little right now that I need the extra food consumption. Even if it’s a little gross.

    The other day I found myself watching Sesame Street even though there were no kids around! Yikes.

    Happy New Year Chichimama!

  7. Can I just steal a couple of yours instead of coming up with my own? πŸ˜‰ I would have to go with not finishing their food, not listening to their music when they’re not around (I’ve told you about that one before), not using the dining room table (or in my case the kitchen island) as storage, and attempt to grocery shop without kids in tow. There’s no way that I could limit takeout that. I’ve got to draw the line somewhere!

    Happy New Year!!

  8. the diet coke, cell phone charged, dining room table, and shower… ummm’ yup -those are at the top of my list too! πŸ™‚ i just discovered your blog tonight through CrazyHipMamas webpage (hopefully mine will show up on the list soon…) nice to meet you!-tara

Leave a Reply

