Mission(s) Accomplished

Library books returned – check.

Trader Joe’s visited – check.

Shoes-ehh, one has to ease back into errand running you know.

But instead of shoes I am now the owner of a pair of size 7 knitting needles, some gorgeous orangy-red yarn and a pattern for a very cute (and hopefully easy) sweater for A. Sized to fit her next winter as I figure that’s about how long it will take me. My mother and Kristy will be so proud.

When C saw me with yarn and knitting needles, he almost did a backflip.

“Mom! You KNIT??? Why didn’t you ever TELL me you knit. I want a sweater. Make me a sweater!”

How many years do you think it will be before he thinks it is decidedly uncool that his mother knits?

Comments

  1. I almost jumped out of my seat when I read this…Yes, I am quite proud. In a not-at-all condescending or patronizing kind of way. Excited for you is more like it.

    If your son is at all smart, he’ll never outgrow the cool-factor fascination with knitting. (I laughed, in fact, when you mentioned way back that you had been embarrassed by your mother’s knitting your sweaters growing up. It IS funny how our perspectives change, huh?)

  2. Phantom Scribbler says:

    Damn, I admire you. Trader Joe’s AND yarn buying? I’m hoping to get both of those accomplished over the course of the next week. Or, um, two.

  3. Henry vascillates between wanting me to knit him a hat (which I don’t know how to do) and wanting me to teach him to knit (which I absolutely could do).

    Either way, I’m encouraging it. As long as he doesn’t decide to poke himself in the eye with a knitting needle. Which he will.

    Pictures of your yarn, please!

  4. I AM SO HAPPY THAT YOU ARE KNITTING! Now you and Meg can fight over my yarn stash someday and I don’t have to feel guilty that I have so much!!!!!!

    Nana

  5. chichimama says:

    Nana figured out how to comment! (Waving a big hello to Nana!)

  6. Running2Ks says:

    That is way cool that he’s into it. You’ll be busy.

    And as for Trader Joe’s–that should be a check on most days. I love that place!

  7. Oh what a treasure to have your son want you to knit him a sweater!

    I think he’ll always secretly think it’s cool that you knit, he just may not be appreciative of the homemade sweaters at 16.

    But you never know… 🙂

Leave a Reply

