Sleep sleep, where art thou sleep

I’m at my wits end. No matter when A goes to bed, or how well or poorly she naps or sleeps during the night, she is up at somewhere between 5 and 5:20 am. This is not an hour at which I function. At all. But given the option between trying to force the issue and therefore waking up C who REALLY doesn’t function well on less than 12 hours of sleep a night, I am stuck waking up at 5 am. Is it really true that there are 20 month olds who can function on eight hours a night? Cause that’s what I’m looking at today. She got eight hours. And that’s not counting the time spent during the middle of the night wake ups. I would take 7. Even 6:30. I was happy at 6:30. I used to go to work at 6:30. 6:30 would work.

Someone please tell me this is a phase and how you got through it. Please. I beg of you.

Comments

  1. BeachMama says:

    🙂 “J” wakes between 5am & 530am. Once in a while we get a repreive and he sleeps in, but those are few and far between.

    Anna – waiting for the sleep fairy too.

  2. chichimama says:

    Anna, good to know I am not the only person blogging this early in the morning. Although I wish for your sake you were sleeping…

  3. A-J Wright says:

    I have a three month old, a 17 month old and a nine year old. I feel as if I never sleep.

    Last night, I was up much later than normal and I heard something down the hallway toward the bedrooms. My 17 month old was running back and forth between his bedroom and my bedroom. He was just having a blast!

    I, too, pray for sleep.

  4. chichimama says:

    Welcome A-J! So sorry to hear you have sleep issues as well. I guess your little one is free of the crib as well…

  5. Phantom Scribbler says:

    LG got 8 hours of sleep a night at that age. Sorry to say. Baby Blue got 8 hours last night, too, but she’ll probably make up for it with a longer nap this afternoon.

    I guess I should count myself lucky that Baby Blue only wants a snack at 5AM. Of course, she goes to bed at flippin’ midnight — that keeps her from waking up for the day too early.

  6. Sorry to hear about your plight. I don’t have any advice to offer, just lots of empathy. I sure hope it’s a phase and she starts “sleeping in” until 6:30 again soon!

  7. Everything is just a phase, right? I couldn’t get through certain behavioral quirks if I didn’t assure myself that they were only temporary.

    Keep hanging in there! Sorry your sleep is so curtailed.

Leave a Reply

