Assming the worst

When I got home from dropping off C at school this morning, there was a message on my answering machine from the chair of a committee I am on. “Could you give me a call back when you get a chance? I need to discuss something with you.” So, of course, my brain goes into overdrive, trying to figure out what she needed to discuss.

Did I say something inadvertent to offend her? Did I do something wrong? Am I being released from the committee (Hmm, that might not be so bad, really…). Every time my phone rang, I nervously jumped for it, wondering if it was her and mentally steeling myself for the worst.

Turns out, SHE had receieved an email from HER “boss” who was less than thrilled with something she had done, and she wanted my advice on how to handle it, because I am apparently “so good at these political things.” Really??? You could have fooled me…

When am I going to stop assuming the worst? And more importantly, how do I keep my kids from inheriting this trait, or is it too late???

Leave a comment