Guest Reader

Today C was the guest reader in A’s class. He read Tiger is a Scaredy Cat, because A’s class is called the Kittens. We have practiced for nights (OK, a night) and I tried to impress upon him the importance of holding the book so all the kids could see the pictures, and speaking loud enough so everyone could hear.

All the way to school, A was bouncing up and down in her booster seat, so excited that she was bringing the guest reader today. She went racing into school, and then instructed C that he was to hide behind me so no one could see him. She sat on her letter and continued to bounce with excitement. C tried to hide behind me, and my ass is big enough these days that he was able to do so with some success.

The teachers finally got everyone to settle down, as well as a bunch of three and four year olds can, and they sang the guest reader song. A was instructed to announce the guest reader and she dashed to the front of the room and pulled C out from behind me. “My BIG BRODER!” C sat at the front of the room and A sat in a chair right next to him, as close as she could without pushing him off his chair.

C began to read, haltingly at first. He forgot to hold up the book so everyone could see. A told the class what the pictures were. “It’s Tiger next to a vacuum! He’s so scared!” I helped out a bit with the book holding portion of things, while inwardly cringing as the other kids began to squirm and wander off.

C hit his stride and instructed me to sit back and take a break because he had the hang of how to hold the book now. A sat basking in the glow of her big broder. Reading! To her class! C would reach over and hug A once and a while. A would grin from ear to ear. And I forced myself to sit back and relax, forced myself not worry about what a bunch of three and four year olds thought, and just enjoyed the experience of my kids basking in the glow of each other.

Comments

  1. O!M!G! TEH CUTE!

    I have video of Miss M “reading” (from memory) to AM–one of their favorite books. It’s a treasure.

  2. Cute! Isn’t it great when they do stuff like that?

  3. What a great thing for C to do! And how lovely that A was so proud of him!! Way to go siblings! 🙂

    Heidi

  4. Oh I love the sibling love. Good job Chichimama!

  5. Oh, that is so sweet! I’m sure that C felt so big and proud reading to A’s class, and it’s obvious that she was very excited to have him there.

    I woke up this morning to find M and J cuddled under the blanket in M’s bed with M reading “Fox in Socks” to J. 🙂

  6. Oh that is just so sweet. Brings tears to my eyes. J has already started to read to Apple, all of his baby bedtime books (even though he can’t really read, but he remembers the books very well) warms my heart.

  7. That is just so sweet. Nothing fills me with joy more than seeing my kids enjoy each other.

  8. That is just too cute for me to bear!

  9. What a wonderful day for all of you. I can just picture C and A telling their own children about it one day…

  10. Oh, sweetness! This was my favorite part: “A sat in a chair right next to him, as close as she could without pushing him off his chair”. I can just feel A’s excitement!

    Love, love, LOVE the new digs! So wonderful.

Leave a Reply

