When will I ever learn?

I spent the day trying to bake cupcakes for A’s Valentine’s Day party tomorrow.  From scratch.  And make the frosting.  From scratch.  All.  Day.  Long.  I feel like I have done this before

The cupcakes came out OK, a little brown on top but once they are frosted, they’ll be just fine.  But the frosting?  I have made three different batches, using three different recipes and not a one had a frosting-like consistency.  I just finished a fourth batch with my last few egg whites, the last of my sugar and the last of my vanilla.  If this one doesn’t harden up like the recipe claims it will, we are out of luck.

And if it does work?  I can guarantee that we will have a snow day.

Hmm.  I wonder where the phone chain info is???

Comments

  1. So I know as a current vegan, this will sound silly, but I always had the same problem back in the days, and I blame the eggs (oh they look innocent enough)! Try a vegan frosting (no eggs, no cholestrol). While they are more buttercream like, it always sets. http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=6441.0

  2. I’m afraid to make an egg icing….I always make a simple buttercream with just butter, icing sugar, vanilla and water or milk. And I think I’m going to just buy something for the Princess’s party this week….I’ll take them out of the box and smoosh up the icing with a knife so it looks like I made them!

    You’re a good mother, Chichimama!

  3. Wow – you are very ambitious! I feel accomplished if I make a batch from a box with frosting from a can 🙂 Go you!

  4. There HAS to be a special place in Heaven for mommies like you…I hope the last try worked AND that there’s no snow day!

    Heidi

  5. So, we’ve got a snow day (and since you don’t live THAT far away, I’m assuming you do to. Go figure!

  6. WTG mommy for trying. Very ambitious of you. I should bake some more. 🙂

  7. I want to be you when I grow up. 🙂

  8. I want to be you when I grow up. 🙂

  9. I’m amazed you even considered, let alone attempted, cupcakes and icing from scratch! You are a great mom!

Leave a Reply

