Random Bullets of Catch Up

  • Don’t be too impressed by my attempts at trying to make cupcakes and frosting from scratch. It was only because I thought I had frosting and cake mix in the house, but apparently I had used it up the last time I frantically realized that I had to provide a special treat the next day and I was too lazy to drag the kids out to the store. In hindsight, I should have just dragged them. And I have since replenished my supply of cake mix and frosting.
  • I know I haven’t been around much. I’ve been having frequent panic attacks, and have been trying to crawl back into my bed for the foreseeable future. But then I realized that February is always when I seem to teeter on the brink of letting the anxiety take over, which made me feel so much better. Perhaps next year I should just pull the kids out of school for the month and head to someplace warm…it seems like everyone else in town has done that.
  • On a totally different note, my children seem to have outgrown everything in the closets, and of course all the stores are all showing spring and summer stuff. All the more reason to contemplate spending next February someplace warm I say. But really? I need to remember next year to buy their winter wardrobes in two sizes as this is getting old.
  • I finished my knit-a-long bag, and so did lots of other folks. Go check them out!
  • Now I am working on this, in hopes of finishing it before we head to London in March. I’m somewhat doubtful, as I can’t quite commit to sitting down for the amount of time it will take me to pick up 210 stitches for the skirt. But perhaps tonight if I don’t end up playing Scrabbulous all night.
  • Did I mention M was out of town visiting Ye Old Alma Mater? Yeah, February is MY preferred time to visit the snow belt. I happily waved him off to “enjoy” the snow and the cold. Apparently his plans for last night involved having a beer and heading to bed early so he could wake up for the big game tomorrow. At noon. He is an old, old man.
  • The kids and I are spending the weekend catching C up on Disney animated movies. He came home from school the other day complaining that he had no idea what the other kids were talking about half the time because the only movies he has ever seen are Curious George and the Bee Movie. So we borrowed Cinderella, Peter Pan, The Sword and the Stone, and Shrek from the library and have all intentions of curling up and watching them all this weekend. Because what else can you do in the middle of February on a long weekend with no spousal support when everyone in town has flown off to more exotic locations?
  • So if you need me this weekend, I will be here, in Disney Movie Hell. And if I make any progress on those 210 stitches, I’ll post some pictures.
Comments

  1. I absolutely love that sweater! I wish I could knit. For some reason, I just can’t seem to get the hang of it.

    Hope you weekend is relaxing and you are feeling better soon! If you need someplace to escape you are more than welcome to come my way. It’s 80 degrees out today.

  2. I love the tilted duster. I can’t wait to see yours. I have yet to make myself something bigger than a pair of socks.

  3. The trick is to knit WHILE playing Scrabulous!

  4. Oh, I’m sorry things are so down for you right now. Panic attacks are not fun. If I can do anything to help, please let me know šŸ™‚

    Liam’s off all next week for President’s Week – would you guys be up for a playdate/meetup?

  5. Miss M is also busting out of most of her 4T stuff and I have therefore allowed her to go out in public in some weird-ass combos simply because she’s not exposing her midriff in said clothing.

    February sucks. Have you noticed that every day when it is above 45 degrees it’s raining? Really really hard? That pretty much sums it up for me.

  6. Sorry that you’re having a tough time. At least winter is more than halfway over, right? And you have that trip to look forward to next month.

    My girls have grown recently, too. Luckily, J has M’s hand-me-downs and M just doesn’t roll up her pants anymore (they were way long at the start of winter).

    Hope you’re enjoying those movies… šŸ™‚

  7. I hear you on the clothes issue. My son has outgrown a lot of his clothes and we are trying to find warm feety pajamas and pants that aren’t paper-thin.

  8. I hate February too. It is the seasonal nadir of the year for me. Enjoy the Disney movies. If you’re like me you’ll wind up spending a lot of time explaining away those scenes with the Indians in Peter Pan!

  9. For the shortest month of the year February is sure dragging on this year. The only saving grace so far is that we got a huge dumping of rain yesterday instead of snow, so half of the snow that was there is now gone. Now if only I could stop the temperature from dropping back below freezing tonight, I would be a hero.

Leave a Reply

