New Bread

I have yet to bake a loaf of bread this year and February is almost over.  Sad, I know.  But in my defense, baking bread requires a significant about of time hanging out at home, and with one kid going to school for two hours in the morning, another for two hours in the afternoon, plus the standard after school grocery trips, gymnastics classes and swim lessons, the amount of time I spend at home is pretty limited.

To try and rectify the situation, the fantabulous Nana gave me this book for my birthday.  Now I am a rather huge devote of the recipe on the back of the King Arthur Flour package for whole wheat bread, and the New York Times No-Knead recipe for “fancy” occasions.   And we all know I am not a fan of change.  But the idea that I could mix up enough dough for three to six loaves of bread, keep it in the fridge and pull it out and make a loaf was pretty appealing, so I am currently trying a batch.  So far it looks pretty good.  I’m going to bake a loaf later today so I’ll update with a taste report later.  But has anyone else tried this?  If so, any tips?

Comments

  1. I haven’t seen this book before, bit it sure does sounds promising. I can’t wait to hear how the bread turns out for you. My big advance in bread making is that Kevin got me a heavy-duty stand mixer for Christmas, and I have been using that to mix and knead. In general my bread hasn’t been quite as good as usual, but it’s worth the trade-off to not have to knead!

  2. Oh my god, that sounds like teh awesome. Let us know how it turns out, would you?

  3. I haven’t seen the book, but it sounds very intriguing! Let us know how it goes.

  4. I want to know how the bread turns out! This book may be in my future, too, but you are the guinea pig! Actually, there are a couple of booksellers at the Barnes and Noble where I bought the book who were pouring over it when I picked it up. They would ALSO like to know if this method works.

    For all of you people who don’t like to knead: It is great exercise and it is great for getting out uh those pent up feelings of frustration, anger….
    Nana

  5. OMG !!! You must have WAAAAY more free time or are so much more patient than I am. They must be kidding !!! Let the dough rest for 12 to 18 hours!!! I just don’t have that kind of time to wait for bread. I have a couple of pretty good bread recipes that I use my bread machine to knead and than I bake. One for white and one for a light wheat. If you want them, let me know. I just made the wheat the other day and once the machine is done, 20 minutes to rise and then 30 to bake.

Leave a Reply

