Never easy

C will be turning six any day now, and this weekend we had his first big kid birthday party.  C took his two best buds to see Horton Hears a Who.  Which was fabulous, by the way.  He and his friends sat quietly and entranced, and I only had to explain basics of the story a few times.  Afterwards we took the kids to ice cream, and every one was happy.  I patted myself on the back for a job well done, a fun party that didn’t cost an arm and a leg AND didn’t take place in my house.

Then, C tugged on my arm.  “Mom!  M says I’m WRONG.  But I’m RIGHT!  Tell him!”

“Right about what C?”

“Right about the big bang!  I was explaining to him about how the earth was made, and he says it isn’t true!

M pipes up with “C is WRONG!  GOD made the earth, and the mommies, and the daddies!  He DID!”

I inwardly cringe.  Who knew that a six year old birthday party could turn into a creation/evolution debate?  “Well, C, and M, lots of people believe lots of different things.  And no one really knows for sure what really happened, because no one who is alive today was there.  What is important is that you respect each others opinion.”  Nice Chichimama!  Dodged that one!

C’s other friend, C2, looks from one to another, and then says “Well, we learned about God creating the earth at school, but I think I like C’s version better.  I believe C, not the priest!”

So there you go, come to a birthday party, see a movie, have an ice cream cone and go home questioning the teachings of the Catholic church.  All part of a day’s work here at Chez J-E.

Comments

  1. Oh my gosh. I love this. Did they debate the merits of Clinton and Obama next? Or if Noah really built an ark and put two of every animal on it? 🙂 Cute, cute, cute.

  2. That’s awesome! I would of been thrown for a loop on that one, you handled it nicely! I guess I better prepare myself for one of those talks someday. Thanks for the warning 🙂

  3. ROFL.

    I personally plan on messing with my kids’ religious education as much as possible. But not at their birthday parties. 😉

  4. That sounds like a conversation I could have had many years ago with my friends. How cute that they got into it at a birthday party.

    And Happy Birthday C!!

  5. granolasusan says:

    That is a funny, funny, story. I wonder what the conversation was like when the friend got home! It’s a good family that teaches kids to have good conversations about real issues. Happy birthday, big boy!

  6. Talk about a deep conversation. I think you handled it quite well with out going overboard.

  7. This is great. I think you handled it really well!

    Ironically, M and I had a conversation this weekend about where people came from, in which I laid out the various options for her.

  8. I wonder if fire and brimstone will be raining down upon you…courtesy of the now-doubting child’s parents. This made my day.

  9. Awe. Some.

    😉

  10. What fun to glimpse the big things that go on in the minds of children!

  11. LOVE that last sentence. Priceless.

  12. And a great job of it, if I do say so myself!

  13. LOVE it! And definitely “navigated” well on your part.

Leave a Reply

