Overheard in the pantry

M: “What are you doing?”

Chichimama: (rummaging through a cabinet while tottering on a stool) “I feel like a cocktail.  But we have nothing with which to make a cocktail.”

M: “Um, you never have cocktails.”

Chichimama: “Well, tonight I want one.  It is cocktail hour, and I have spent the day organizing the attic and cleaning out the guest room/office and generally avoiding writing what I need to write, so I figured that it called for a cocktail.  But all we seem to have are four bottles of rum that your co-workers have brough you back from various sunny locations and two bottles of tequila that I am fairly confident we enherited from Paul when they moved to London.”

M: “I don’t like tequila.”

Chichimama: “Nor do I, and I don’t like rum either.  There is gin, but no tonic, and a rather sickly looking cosmo mix but no vodka.  Clearly I need to add ‘stock liquor cabinet’ to my mental list.”

M: “Why?  Because you might want another cocktail ten years from now?”

Chichimama: “Exactly.”

Comments

  1. I feel your pain.

  2. But tequila makes margueritas! Mmm. I had a beer today while I was making dinner. Had that beer not been in the fridge, “GET BEER” would have gone right on my list. Because, you know, even if it’s only once every ten years, it’s sooo good to be ready. 😉

  3. Like a good scout, always be prepared 🙂

  4. Just buy a bottle of vodka and call it a day.

  5. I have a bottle of dessert wine that’s been hanging around for years. Next time I see you I’ll bring it. (If I remember. Sorry, the chances are not bloody likely.)

  6. It sounds like a cocktail was definitely called for. Have you re-stocked yet? 🙂

  7. Sounds like my house! My husband always laughs at me as he opens a beer an ‘offers’ me some, know how much I dislike it.

Leave a Reply

