Overheard in the basement

M: “If the kids aren’t going to play down here, I want to turn it into an exercise room.”

Chichimama: “Well, I think it will be a useful room when the kids are teenagers.”

M: “Why?”

Chichimama: “I want to be the mom who arrives downstairs with pizza and cookies every once and a while.”

M: “Excuse me?”

Chichimama: “You know, there was always the house that everyone went to in high school to hang out where the parents were present, but not so present that you didn’t want to hang out there.  It generally involved a staircase and lots of food.”

M: “I went where there were no parents and beer and I turned out OK.”

Chichimama: “Ah, but how many of your friends did?”

M: “None of them, really.”

Chichimama: “Exactly.  And how many of my friends did?”

M: “Ah.  I see.”

Chichimama: “I thought you would see things my way.”

Comments

  1. Lol! Good for you for thinking ahead.

  2. I love your attitude. My house was always where everyone came when I was a teenager. My friends could spend the night without me having to ask and the people who came to visit had only 3 rules to follow: no drinking, no smoking, and you had to leave by 5:00 am when my stepfather got up for work.

    Before you go thinking that my mom was insane about the 5:00 rule, it was not everyone that stayed that late. Usually just friends that she knew well and trusted.

  3. I love it! All of our friends came to our house because my Dad had stashes of chips, soda and candy all over the place. And you never left our house without eating. I hope to have a similar home for Apple and J, so far so good with J’s friends. I am the ‘cool’ Mama according to them.

  4. This conversation made me laugh!

    But you are so right.

  5. I always wanted to be the cool mom, too 🙂

  6. Too funny. I hope to be the cool mom, too.

  7. I wanna be “that mom” too – the cool one with the good food and comfy furniture. 😉

Leave a Reply

