Overheard from the Backseat

C: “Why do we ALWAYS have to put on sunblock?”

Chichimama: (clearly not thinking quite straight and at the end of her patience) “Because if you don’t you will get skin cancer like all of your relatives, and skin cancer is not a pleasant way to die.”

A: “Mommy, there really isn’t a pleasant way to die.”

________

A: “I can’t wait to be a grownup and have two kids and a baby.”

C: “I think I will spend my childhood wishing I was a grownup and my grownup years wishing I was a child.”

(I kid you not, that really came out of his mouth, unprovoked. And all I could say to that was “Yep.  That about sums it up dude.”

Comments

  1. How right C is…you need to find a way to immortalize that for him so he can be reminded of his wisdom when he grows up. 🙂

  2. Those are two very wise quotes from your kids. When I was a kid I remember thinking how awesome it would be to get mail every day. Now I get it almost every day and it is mostly junk.

  3. How right he is!

  4. I think I’ve just heard the “Quotable Quotes” winer for the year 🙂 It’s amazing what thoughts these tiny people hold in their heads.

  5. That first quote gets me, for sure. I use your line all the time, citing the death of my father at the age of 56. Sadly, the kids think 56 is a pretty decent age to die since it’s so very old. His second quote is simply further evidence of his brilliance.

  6. OMG I heart him.

  7. Oh, that is so cute. How did he get it so right?

Leave a Reply

