Poof!

I somehow spent over 12 of the last 24 hours on issues surrounding vegetables, and their delivery to 108 lovely members of our CSA.  My Transportation and Distribution Management professor would be so proud (maybe).  I compiled lists.  And calculated (and recalculated) optimal routes.  And printed (and re-printed) maps for the volunteer drivers.  I bagged shares, delivered shares, and then gave my children free rein at the ice cream store (for dinner.  Ice cream for dinner, you heard me) as their reward for hanging out with me and a bunch of vegetables all day.

I had a blog post going in my head about how somehow, I am incapable of stepping back from an organization and letting someone else figure out how to make it all work.  Because I get frustrated with people’s disinterest in stepping up to the plate, and, as Rebecca put it the other day, I am fairly convinced that if I was in charge of the world it would be a much better place.  So, given the opportunity, I tend to jump into the deep end feet first with my eyes closed and then realized after the fact that really, I should have run screaming to the snack bar.

There, that basically sums up the blog post for the day.  And, even though I told M I wasn’t going to blog it, here is my kids quote of the day.

C: “What would happen if I ate 2,500 pound of carrots?”

Chichimama: “You would turn orange and probably be really sick of carrots.”

C: “What if I ate 2,500 pound of ice cream?”

Chichimama: “You would be unhealthy, and probably have stomach ache.”

C: “Does eating too much ice cream make your pants too tight?”

Chichimama: “Uh, probably.”

C: “Would eating too many carrots make your pants too tight?”

Chichimama: “I think it would be hard to make your pants too tight by eating carrots.”

C: “Ah, then Daddy must eat too much ice cream.”

Chichimama: “Snort.”

Comments

  1. I agree, you should be in charge of the world. And I even throw in my Aunt who, if allowed to cook for everyone, I know would clear up a few world issues. Nothing like a few good women to change the world as we know it.

    And C is just too cute 🙂

  2. c always makes me laugh

  3. Oh, my. C is an artful master of the zinger, isn’t he?

  4. Oh, that’s a good one. And apparently I am in the camp of too much ice cream and too few carrots lately 😉

Leave a Reply

