ravelympics

Anyone Ravelry folks out there interested in creating a ravelympics team with me?  I cannot promise to be a fabulous competitor as I will be on vacation during the Olympics, but then again I will beo n vacation with Nana and my sister, who are both knitting fiends, and my husband and brother-in-law, who I am sure will be glued to the Olympics every evening and I have a know history of getting sucked into the Olympics and staying up to all hours to see the most obscure events just because.  At about age 12 I actually cried hysterically during the closing ceremonies because I was so distraught over my daily summer addiction ending.

Anywhoo, if you are interested, let me know.  I was actually thinking about doing the WIP Wrestling event to try and finish up my languishing projects, but cold be talked into the Holiday Handball as I just came up with a fabulous idea for a knitted advent calendar (Well, OK, I saw a poorly done version in a catalog and thought ” I can do that SO much better” and then mentally committed myself to making one).

And if you are not yet a Ravelry member, I believe that the wait time is only about 3 days right now, so you would have time to join prior to the opening ceremonies!

Comments

  1. A knitted Advent calendar? Really? I’d love to see what it looks like. (I have a fondness for Advent calendars!)

  2. On the one hand, I’m going to be traveling and not with knitters, so it might be tough to cast on during the opening ceremony broadcast (I couldn’t do it during the actual opening ceremony because we’ll be heading for the Salt Lake City airport on our way to San Diego and I can’t face socks right now and I don’t think I want to risk getting any other needles confiscated).

    On the other hand, I haven’t started anything new in ages — I’m still limping along with a bunch of sad WIPs, mostly socks, which are boring me to death — and it would be fun to set myself a challenge. Gemma needs a new cardigan.

    On the other hand again, I should maybe do the WIP Wrestling. Except — boring me to death.

    I don’t know. I could be talked into it, I think.

  3. Just to be clear, I could make my cardigan be eligible for the Cable Steeplechase, the Gift Knits Pentathlon, or the Sweater Sprint. And I could be talked into something else. But that’s my first impulse.

    And you do remember how “well” I did with the KAL (Damn that felting step). Don’t count on me to carry the team over the finish line, is what I’m saying.

  4. I already signed up to do WIP Wrestling but I don’t have a team so I would love to join yours.

Leave a Reply

