Random Bullets of Holiday Madness

  • My cards are sent, all of them, even the “I know they moved but I can’t find the change of address card” ones.
  • All the presents are bought (but not wrapped), except for perhaps some extra “grownup” stocking stuffers.
  • The kids are beyond excited about the impending arrival of the big guy in red.  I finally threw my hands up in the air last night and told them that as long as they didn’t come downstairs anymore, I really didn’t care what they did in their rooms.  They went to bed at 9:30.  Gah.
  • C came home from school rather worked up over an “awful story” he heard, that parents sneak downstairs after the kids go to bed and fill the stockings.  I was totally right when I told M this was our last Christmas with children who believe.  Because you know once C figures it out for sure, he is telling A, those two can’t keep a secret from each other for more than 30 seconds.
  • C seems to be coming out of whatever really awful stage he was in for the better part of the last year, knock on wood.  In general, he is now a rather lovely person to be around.  Even when he loses it, he can generally recover in a few minutes rather than a few hours.
  • A, however, seems to be entering the horrible stage C just left.  Tis the problem with having them so close together I suppose.
  • Her current behavior had NOTHING to do with our recent decision to send her to full-day private kindergarten, however.  I swear.
  • It is 7 am and both children are still fast asleep.  The upside of a 9:30 bedtime, I suppose.
  • We are supposed to get a rather impressive snow and ice store today.  I really didn’t believe the weather folks earlier in the week, and am therefore totally not prepared for such an event.  However, I also don’t feel like facing the crowds at the grocery store.  So I am going with “there is nothing wrong with surviving on Christmas cookies and hot chocolate for a few days” approach to disaster preparedness.
  • I don’t, however, have enough yarn to last me the weekend, so I may need to swing by the yarn shop, just in case.  I am starting to understand why my mother had an EXTRA ROOM built onto her house, just to store the yarn and related supplies.
  • In my grand renovation (that I will still be dreaming about 10 years from now), I am expanding our guest room for just such a reason to make room for a desk and file cabinet.
  • Must go make lunches now, as it looks like school is indeed on.  Also, must remember to bring my cell phone will me so I will know when they send the kids home early.
Comments

  1. ’tis the season to go crazy! Glad it’s not just me – the snow storm has started here, and I HAVE to go out in it, and we’re out of milk. Damn.

  2. I am glad that I’m not the only one who hasn’t wrapped any presents yet! I am, thankfully, done with my shopping as well. Whew! Good luck with the snow/ice storm.

  3. I think the extra yarn is a much more important emergency supply for you than food. We’re talking your sanity here, right?

  4. Definitely, absolutely, do not get snowed in without enough yarn to keep you occupied!

Leave a Reply

