Happy Merry Joy Joy

  • The holiday spirit got lost this year, somewhere between Target and the grocery store about a week and a half ago.
  • The season seems to have gotten away from me, much like the cats bolt out the door if it gets opened even a sliver.
  • Next year I think I need many more lists.
  • And I need to start making those list in October sometime.  Right after I get through the back to school nonsense.
  • Don’t ever go to Trader Joe’s at 8pm on December 23rd.  Not only will it be totally picked over, there will also be a bunch of shell-shocked zombies wandering around clutching lists and muttering cryptically to themselves.  It took the sheer fear of having to face a grocery store on December 24th with two children in tow to keep me there long enough to buy enough random items that will hopefully become a meal tomorrow night.
  • Wishing you and yours a very merry holiday, whatever it is you are celebrating.
  • Me?  I’m celebrating the fact that I don’t have to pack lunches for a whopping ten days.  That is deserving of its very own holiday, I’m quite convinced.
Comments

  1. I danced a celebration dance when I finished all my shopping on Monday. It was quite crowded. You could not pay me to go shopping again this close to Christmas.

  2. Merry Christmas to chichimama and family!

  3. I took both kids to the grocery store with me yesterday. Everyone, staff AND customers, was glad to see us go.

    And it’s 3:39am, and I was so stressed out about everything I have to do today that I couldn’t sleep. I figured I’d get a head start on brining the turkey, but the damn thing is still too frozen to get the giblets out, so I’m blogging while it sits in a sink full of water. Happy Merry Joy Joy, indeed.

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Happy lunch-packing-free fortnight! We’re going to need a catchier name for the new holiday.

  5. Merry Christmas to you, Chichimama, and to your beautiful family, M, C, and A!!

  6. Merry Christmas!

    We have lunches included in our exorbitant tuition. (The menus sound really lovely. Miss M eats plain pasta every day.) So really I am just quaking at the idea of lots of smushed up quality time over the next 10 days.

    Also: I promised Miss M I’d go to TJs tomorrow. For applesauce. (!!!) Oh, yeah, I’m crazy. But people are raving about the candy cane JoeJoes, so it might be worth it.

Leave a Reply

