Tiki Bar

I almost bought a tiki bar today.  I was shopping for my dad’s birthday gift, and while HomeGoods did not have the perfect set of double old fashioned glasses, it DID have a tiki bar.  Why they were selling a tiki bar, I have no idea.  But there it was, right between the Easter decorations and the pots and pans.  Calling my name.  Because what out backyard really needs (besides someone who won’t kill every living thing in it) is a tiki bar in the back corner.

034

Can’t you picture it?  A warm summer night, tiki torches lit, and me passing out fruity cocktails to the neighbors from behind the tiki bar.  Kids, doing something not dangerous and not involving me.  Me, in a cute dress, Mike being grillmeister.  Ah, the life. 

We never have our neighbors over, however, and I have no idea how to make fruity cocktails.  And I know that one good hard rain and that tiki bar is toast.  Plus, it cost more than I spend on my kids wardrobe in a year.  But it didn’t stop me from standing in front of the tiki bar long enough that a sales clerk came over and helpfully pointed out that there is storage!  For, you know, fruity drink supplies!  At which point I snapped a picture, claimed that I would have to check with my husband, and made a hasty departure from the store before my inner tiki bar tender got the best of me.

Farwell dear tiki bar.  May you find an owner who appreciates you and will bother to make room for you in the garage when it rains.

Comments

  1. You crack me up!!! I would never in a million years long over one of those since I don’t drink or entertain. My kids would probably fill it up with dirt or the Kansas winds would blow it away into my neighbor’s yard.

  2. I’d love one of those too….in fact, I tried to convince the director of the arts camp I teach at to pick Hawaii as our theme this year….I know nothing about Hawaiian art, but I’d love to host a staff Tiki party!

  3. Now I am disappointed.
    I would have come over for fruity drinks.

  4. Sounds like you want warm weather as much as I do – anything that reminds me of fun and sun sounds great right now!

  5. I love HomeGoods, and officially want a Tiki Bar. Although it would make me want a margarita, which I cannot have until July 21st. Hmph.

  6. I would happily teach you how to make fruity drinks.

    (Also: You don’t need a tiki bar for the scenario you’re spinning here to work.)

  7. I bought it – yep had the same visions – and then something came over me and I bought it…..I have pictures of it set up in my yard if your interested….it folds up really easily and I live in california so rain isn’t a big problem….great purchase!

Leave a Reply

