A cast on phobia

I seem to have developed a phobia to casting-on.  I spend hours drooling over patterns on Ravelry, printing them out and filing them neatly in my pattern binder.  I have a closet full of yarn and needles, yet I can’t remember the last time I actually cast on.  I’m not quite sure how the phobia developed, perhaps it was when I had to cast on 400 stitches THREE TIMES when I couldn’t quite figure out the first few rows of a pattern?  Perhaps it was when I realized I hadn’t finished a project since August sometime?  Regardless, there is no knitting happening right now, only drooling.  And yet, the majority of my holiday gifts (only 48 days left, OMG) involve knitting.  Clearly I need to get my tush in gear.  Or, head to the mall.

Any ideas how to overcome my phobia?  Perhaps a simple garter stitch something?

Comments

  1. Yes, I think a little garter-stitch something would be good. Is there something that fits that category in the to-do pile? (The Yarn Harlot advises never to try to overcome a knitting block with deadline knitting, you know.)

    I just sent my mother some socks for her birthday. Those socks started as a last-year’s Christmas present. Then they were going to be a Valentine’s Day present (they’re red). Then Mother’s Day.

    I never rely on knitting for holidays, is what I’m saying.

  2. Try something quick and easy that can be finished in a short amount of time. I have been making a lot of toys of late which fits that scenario. Like Jody I try to not rely on knitting for Christmas presents because my brain is so melted from kids that I can’t plan far enough in advance to actually pull it off. Right now I will be doing well if I can crank out the two scarves that I have on my list.

  3. I’ll cast on your projects for you if you’ll finish my projects for me. I get 60-70% of the way through, and then get so. sick. of the project I just can’t stand it anymore. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

