20-14=

the number of kids in the classroom next to C’s today.  I would say that swine flu has finally hit our area.  I spent the day picking up books on CD and videos at the library, plus some reading material for myself (in case they get sick and I don’t).  I picked up ginger ale, Gatorade, frozen kids dinners (in case I get sick and they don’t), Motrin, Tylenol, tissues, and cat food (can’t let the poor cats starve).  I forgot soy milk, laundry detergent, Lysol, and thermometer batteries.  I am hoping that if I prep enough, I will be prepared enough that the flu will pass us by.  Wishful thinking, I know.

I am tempted to head back to the library tomorrow, as I figure three books on CD will only get us through a day or two.  But I felt guilty taking out the entire collection of Ramona books just in case there was another family out there who was in similar need of listening material.  I wonder how the Harry Potter books are on CD…anyone know?

Comments

  1. The Harry Potter book on CD are strong. Jim Dale is now friggin everywhere on children’s CDs, and that’s because of Harry Potter.

    Now, his female voices (with the possible exceptions of Mrs. Weasley, Mrs. Dursley, and Prof. McGonnagal) are annoying. He tends to hit “whine” instead of “different pitch.” But in general? They are good, good CDs.

    14 kids out?! That’s amazing. We’ve had no more than 6 or 7 out, and if that virus was swine flu (I think it’s considered possible that it was), we had it easy.

    Of course, we’ve had something like 4 viruses since then, so easy is a relative term.

Leave a Reply

