Bullets of How Not to Make Friends and Influence People

  • I went to a conference last weekend, and discovered upon arriving at the hotel, located far far away from any store of any kind, that I brought a wardrobe of white tops and only black bras.  Yes.  I sported a unique look for the weekend.  Thankfully, I had learned how to discreetly cover my boobs while nursing the kiddos and spent the weekend artfully draping my wrap.  To the point that one of the attendees commented on my love of the wrap as an accessory.  Which, of course, forced me to tell her the reason, causing her to laugh hysterically in sympathy and then and share my predicament with others.
  • At this same conference, I arranged a networking dinner for 23 women.  About halfway through dinner, the lights dimmed and raunchy music started playing.  I leave the rest to your imagination.  That’s what happens when you try to plan events with puppy brain, and fail to do due diligence.  In my defense, it got rave reviews on Open Table, and the food was indeed exceptional.  What the reviewers failed to note was that 10pm on a Thursday night there is a “special” show. (And no, there was no nakedness or removal of clothing, just, um, scantily clad).
  • If one were to rate networking events on how well folks remembered each other years from now, however, I bet mine will rank up there.  At lunch the next day, several of the women who attended were chatting happily away with each other and regaling everyone around them with the story of their evening.
  • As you can imagine, by the end of the conference EVERYONE knew who I was.  Unfortunately, it was not for the reasons I had hoped they would.  On the upside, as a result of my “reputation,” I did get an exceptional turnout at the session I led, and it was successful enough that I was asked to lead it at another conference in October.  I was not, however, asked to plan a networking dinner.
  • I promise to wear all black and order room service all weekend.
Comments

  1. Bwahaha! Well you sure got noticed, I bet you get tons of people at your next dinner lol!

  2. I totally want you to plan a conference for me.

  3. HA! I’m with Awesome Mom and Kate — from here on out, you’re in charge of get-togethers.

    I’ve had that bra thing happen, and I’ve gotta say, I’m impressed that you had a wrap available.

  4. Honestly, things sound like your weekend was much more interesting than the average conference. Good for you for shaking things up!

  5. I know it wasn’t intended, but I am sure the ‘show’ made for some extra fun, and stories to tell after the conference. Glad you enjoyed setting up the networking event an didn’t shy away from another one.

  6. I’m just reading this now — and laughing aloud!

Leave a Reply

