On Vay-kay-chi-on

We made it to our final destination, cargo bag intact.  Unfortunately, while the cargo bag stayed put, it was in fact not waterproof as advertised.  We discovered this as the instant I hit the MA border, the heavens opened and it poured.  All the way to the NH border, where the weather magically improved.  The only things damaged in the deluge?  My year-long magazine collection and my clothes.  Thankfully, M had the sense to put my knitting in the car, so I didn’t end up with a bag full of felt.

The kids have fallen right back in with their summer friends, disappearing for the morning at tennis and various other activities and spending the afternoon running from one family’s beach encampment to another’s.  I have gotten 3/4 of the way through my waterlogged magazine collection, and finished the back of my cardigan.  The weather has been beautiful, not too hot and not too cold.

Added bonus: Right now everyone, including the dog, is fast asleep.  At 1:20 in the afternoon.  Do you think I can stay on vacation permanently?

Comments

  1. Well now you know to only put in stuff that will not be ruined by water. Someday I would like to do a real vacation instead of always just visiting family. Visiting family is nice but they don’t live in very interesting places so it would be nice to go somewhere new.

    • Oh, we are visiting family :-). We have never taken a “real” vacation with the kids. But at least we have relatives who live in vacation destinations…

  2. Probably you can’t stay on vacation forever. Let me know if you figure out a way to make it work, though.

    I started a worsted-weight cardigan last week. I’m in A/C all the time anyway, so why not? I need to get the info up on Ravelry….

Leave a Reply

