My favorite time of the year

We are entering my FAVORITE time of the year, the time where all good travel plans get destroyed by one illness or another.  And I know we are good and screwed because we are traveling elsewhere for every. single. holiday.  You name the day off from school between now and the end of June and we have tickets or a long car trip planned.  So, in preparation, I have laid in the supplies needed to carry us from now until June in style.  Do you think it will work?  I have my doubts since A started her pre-illness meltdown this evening, but perhaps it will be a quick one as opposed to the two-week stomach bug that turned out to be a parasite, or the 10-day unexplained fever.

While prepping in hopes of avoiding the holiday illness, I broke down and ordered Apple TV, and placed a nice big order at Webs (and yes, I know I have a closet full of yarn, but if I am going to spend the next month confined to the house watching Netflix on-demand, I need some new yarn to perk me up!).  I have laid in a supply of library books for the kids (God bless the 4-week loan period with online renewal and no limit on how many books can be checked out), and am contemplating one of these bread makers to replace the one that just croaked (1 lb loaves, good or bad, please discuss).  I feel like I have done everything I can to prepare for the inevitable onslaught of illness.

But M?  He just committed us to eternal damnation by announcing that in the last two weeks he has been ill and A has been ill, so clearly, we won’t get sick this holiday.

I think I may need to lay in a supply of wine as well.

Comments

  1. Let’s hope M is right, and everyone remains healthy. But lay in a supply of wine and yarn-those things will be useful and fun no matter what happens during germ and virus season!

  2. He is insane and you need to staple his mouth shut.

    We have Netflix and our Wii so that we have tons of kid and adult entertainment ready for any illness. I am mildly hopeful that living in a more temperate climate we will not get as sick.

Leave a Reply

